Our Vision

To become the inimitable government institute in the local administration process to prosper the livelyhood of the peopel living in Matra Divisional Secretariat division while becoming the highest friend and pioneer of the development drive.

Our Mission

To enhance the living standard of people by providing services in accordance with policies, through coordination of resources and by launching efficient, resolute and planned development drive with participation of people.

Located along a captivating sea beach amids abundance of Natural Beauty  Matara  Divisional   Secretariat Division is the main administrative and commercial hub in the matara district.   It is about 00.8 of the total land area of Sri Lanka while it is 4.20% of  the total land area of the Matara District.  It spreads across 53.9  km of land which is  about  5390  hectares.  66 Grama Niladhari    Divisions come   under  its    purview  while  there are  108    villages  under its administration in this division.  The total population in the Division is 119274 and they are living in 26844 houses while the number of families living in the division is  30580.  Out of this 27334 (23.4%) families, 6387 families are matriarchal.    The general annual precipitation hovers around 1390.1 mm.   The humidity stands at  78 during day time while it goes up  to around 87 during night time.

Matara Divisional Secretariat Division is noted for having the biggest population among other Divisional Secretariat Divisions in the district.  That is about  14.2 of  the   total population of the district and also holds the record  for the biggest population density in the district.   It spreads across 2104  50  km  while it  covers  5796  km withing the Matara municipal council limits. It has about 79784 voters according to the 2004 electoral register. Two local government bodies operate within the Matara Divisional Secretariat Division. One of which is the Matara Municipal council controls 12.8 sq.Km. control over 41.1 sq km The Matara  municipal council holds its full  administrative  power over  36 G.N. Divisions  while partially  controls  l 5 G.N. Divisions.   Matara   Division   is  supervised  by  two Agrarian  services centers  namely Kekanadura and Madiha Godagama.

The Madiha Godagama Agrarian center has kiralla kale mangrove within it's perview while the kekanadura Agrarian center has  Ellakanda  forest  reserve coming  under  its   perview. Many a faddy fields belonging to these two local governments have become barren lands due to the Nilwalla Scheme.

All educationally prominent schools are located within the Matara divisional  secretariat division. The total number of schools in the division is 42 while 6 out of that 42come under the category of National Schools The general teacher student ratio is 19.3 and the number of students in prominent schools such as Sujatha and Rahula exeeds 5000. The University of Ruhuna and a technical college is also located in this division. As for health there is a General Hospital located in the city of Matara while there are five private hospital treating the patients who come to get medical  services.   A central  dispensary and  43 private  medical  centers are  in operation  in  the  division  while  people from  as  far  as Monaragala and Hambantota come to these hospital seeking treatments.

According to the  poverty line prepared by the Department of  census  and statistics Matara ranks the wealthiest Division in the district. The head count index here is 16.9 while 17,052 people are living below the poverty line.

The number of samurdhi recipients in 2005 is more than half  of  the  total population  of  the Division.

Historical and Administrative evolution of encient Matara

The history of Matara dates back to 2500 Years and it is believed that Nagas had been living in Matara when Areyans came to Sri lanka in 6 th century B.C. The Greek visionary Tolamy is on record to say that Matara was inhabited by Nagas  during that period.

Morden Matara

District Minister System was introduced in 1978 and under that system Mr.Keerthi Abeyawikrama become the very first District Minister for Matara District .  Government agent automatically become the secretary for the District Minister.  In 1981 the incumbent Government introduced the District Development Council and the selected members had the right to choose a member  as their chairman.  "Gramodayamandala" was created for each Grama niladhari Division.  In 1992 the old kachcheri system was done away with and it was replaced by the District Secretary system.  Under this system Assitant Government Agent Division become Divisional Secretariat Division.  And the Government Agent become District Secretary and the Assistant Government Agent become the Divisional Secretary while Gramasewaka become the Gramaniladhari.  By 1992 three were12 Divisional Secretariat and kotapola Divisional Secretariat Division was divided in to two adding another one called Pitabeddara and Weligama was also divided in to two Divisions adding another one calle Welipitiya.  By 1999 the number of Divisional Secretariats rose to 16.  Matara town serves as the administrative and commercial hub of the District which consists of 16 Divisional Secretariats 650 Gramaniladhari Divisions and  1648 villages.                                                                                                                                                                                                         
Role performed at DS
Name From To
Mr. P.A. Jayawardana  1992-10-04 1994-11-30 
Mr. G.S. Ediriweera  1994-12-01 1998-04-29 
Mrs.U.H. Dayaseeli  1998-05-19 2004-03-03 
Mr. T.P. Wanigasinghe 2004-03-04 2005-05-09
Mrs.W.K. Athukorala 2005-05-10 2007-03-25
Mr. T.P. Wanigasinghe 2007-03-26 2011-06-11
Mr. B. Ranaweera 2011-06-13 2014-02-01
Mr. Ranjith Yapa 2014-01-02 2017-04-19
Mr. D.D.K. Wickramaarachchi 2017-04-20 2019-07-31
Mrs. Deepika K. Gunarathne 2019-09-12 Until Now..

News & Events


Curfew Licenses Format for Covid-19

Curfew licenses Format for Covid-19


Event Calender - 2021

Event Calender 2021

Scroll To Top